RedHeadOnTheRun aka….my journey to 100

So my journey to 100….It’s a very simple story.  I started running in 2010 after being VERY inspired by watching men and women finish a 1/2 marathon. I stood at the finish line of the River Run 1/2 marathon in Rocky River and watched amazing men and women cross the finish line.  One after the other.  I couldn’t believe it….these people had run 13.1 miles.  In a row!! I had never run more then a mile and just couldn’t fathom that not only multiple people were there that day doing this, but they looked happy.  Something stirred in me.  A thought crossed my mind.  I wanted it to be me.  Fast forward one year later, and I crossed that finish line.  Let’s jump to present day.  I’ve now completed 2 full marathons, 1 50k, and countless 1/2 marathons.  3 years ago, I decided to spend some time on the trails and I fell in love.

During my time out in the woods, I have encountered dozens of people training for super long distance races and have been inspired.  I have volunteered at aid stations and been inspired.  I have listened to podcasts and been inspired. I have run my own long distances and been inspired.  It is hard to put words to the feeling I experience after spending 5 or 6 hours on a trail.  All I know is that my body is thrives at long distances.  And I’m ready to push myself further then I ever have.  This is the story of my journey.11951980_10153114820708519_1770710798917752346_n

3 thoughts on “RedHeadOnTheRun aka….my journey to 100

  1. Pingback: Goals: Putting it All Out There | My life as an aspiring ultrarunner

Leave a Reply

