Favorite Running Gear, part 2-Leighanna’s faves

I asked longtime BRF Leighanna to give her 2 cents on her favorite gear.  You’ll probably notice a trend right away 🙂

If you haven’t already, check my favorites out here!

Leighanna: I don’t know that I’ll be able to write as eloquently as Sara does, however, I’m happy to give my two cents about my 5 favorite pieces of running gear. To preface this, I probably have way too many running clothes, like probably every other runner out there, I know I’m not unique in this. There are things that I have gotten, have worn a couple of times and they just end up crumpled amid a mass of Luon fabric in the Lululemon abyss, known as my dresser. For the sake of time and everyone’s patience, I’m narrowing it down to my favorite gear that I primarily wear when it’s warm out. As my closest running friends know, I like to run in the least amount of clothes possible and it’s purely for my comfort. I hate the feeling of a sweaty shirt sticking to me, which if I were being honest would only serve as a handkerchief for my perpetually runny nose. That being said, here goes my 5 favorite pieces of running gear:
1) I do have a favorite tank that I wear because most business frown upon someone walking in, in only a sports bra, that is the Lululemon Cool Racerback tank. I like this tank for a multitude of reasons: 1) it’s long enough for me and doesn’t ride up in the off chance I decide to run with a shirt on and for someone who’s 5’9” that is a big deal! 2) It wicks sweat away, but doesn’t get the heavy feeling that most shirts get. 3) They hold their shape and come in a ton of colors and patterns.
2) Lululemon Speed Shorts: These are my go to shorts, they are 2 ½ inch inseam and yes they are short, but on me they cover enough and I still don’t feel like I’m being smothered in fabric. They have a handy zipper pocket on the back to store my keys, they dry fast and are really the type of shorts that I just put on and go, being a looser fit, and it’s not an exercise in futility to get them on.

Speed shorts in action 


3) Lululemon Run Stuff Your Bra: (I’m beginning to see a trend here. Please note: I am an unpaid endorser of Lulu) This bra is like the Swiss Army Knives of bras. First off, it holds everything nice and securely, second, there are multiple little pockets in the front of the bra to hold anything I need like my key, IPod or gels and lastly, it comfortable, doesn’t chafe me and withstands hours of running without losing its shape. I’ve worn these bras in several fulls and ultras and have never had a problem.

The bra that holds everything but the kitchen sink 


4) Salomon Sense Ultra 3 Hydration Veset: It weighs 110gms and has the capacity to hold 3 liters of fluid. It comes with 2-500ml soft flasks with the option of adding a bladder. I hate bladders, they’re too hot, too heavy and the idea of sucking warm fluid through a plastic hose does not appeal to me. When I found this vest I like the idea of the 500ml flasks for a total of 1 liter of water, compared to other vests that had plastic bottles or flasks that were not that big. One liter of water weighs 1 kilogram or 2.2 pounds, so having that weight evenly distributed across my chest is infinitely more comfortable. The vest itself is light, breathable and doesn’t make me feel like I’m wearing another article of clothing. On top of all the other positives, this vest has more pockets then I know what to do with. I carried tons of stuff with me in training and in ultras and all the while, I didn’t feel like I was fumbling to get access to anything.

Salmon hydration pack + a cute mid run pic of us

5) North Face Youth Revelstoke Mittens and handwarmers: Obviously these are not pieces of warm weather gear; however, they have become invaluable to me if I want to run outside all year. I have Raynaud’s Syndrome, which is episodic microvascular spasms causing reduced blood flow, primarily affecting my hands and is triggered by cooler/cold temperatures. That being said, winter running can be almost intolerable because my hands will hurt, become numb and extremely uncomfortable. So, my mittens, which are heavy duty snowboarding mittens and my “warmies” have become a staple in my wardrobe if I don’t want my hands to feel like they’re going to break off.

Warmest mittens out there 


Bonus wish list!

As far as wish list items are concerned, I don’t really NEED anything, however, there are a few things that I’d like to have:
1) A race entry into the Gorge Waterfalls 50k or 100k. This course looks absolutely stunning and takes place in Oregon, put on by Rainshadow Running. It is also a Western States qualifier which draws several ultra-runners that I look up to.


2) A new Garmin, possibly the 235. My current Garmin is the 210 and is still fully functional, but the battery life is about 7.5-8 hours. When I ran Burning River 50 miler, I had to switch out watches at mile 38, which was annoying, so considering that I plan on running 2-50 milers this year, it might be time for an upgrade.

Thanks to Leighanna for compiling this awesome list!! 

One thought on “Favorite Running Gear, part 2-Leighanna’s faves

  1. Pingback: Training Log-give me all the miles | My life as an aspiring ultrarunner

Leave a Reply

