Spring 2017 Marathon Plans


I have some big news-I was selected to represent the Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon as an official race ambassador for the 40th anniversary of the race! I am so excited to be able to participate in this race which I consider my hometown race during this big anniversary year! And  I am honored to be an ambassador amongst such a great group of runners . I have participated in this race in some form since 2014 and have spectated it since my sister first ran it in 2011.  I consider this one of the premier events of the spring in our area and it’s always so exciting to be a part of race weekend! The race takes place May 20th and 21st 2017 and includes a 5k, 8k (on Saturday) and a 10k, 1/2 marathon, and full marathon.  And you can even run one race on Saturday and one on Sunday to participate in the challenge series.  I love the crowds, spectators, and fellow race goers who all show up in full force on race day.  And I can’t wait to be a part of the action this year!

Just a little history with me and this race: in 2014 I ran this race as my first post partum 1/2 marathon when Liam was 7 months old.  I somehow PR’ed which was crazy considering I was functioning on minimal sleep, nursing around the clock, and doing absolutely no speed training! But I had a great time and decided to make the next year my first post partum full marathon.  In 2015 I did end up running the full and had the training cycle of a lifetime with Rachel  (also a fellow ambassador!), Noemi, Julie and David.  We had a blast running through the crazy winter and as luck would have it, it was 80° race day! In 2016 I made it through about 75% of my full marathon training cycle (was sooooo close to the starting line!) but was put on complete rest with a herniated L4 and L5 in my lower back.  I still showed up on race day and cheered my ass off for all of my friends who ran in that utterly insane Cleveland weather.  I also sustained my first spectating injury with a case of frostbite that lasted for 2 months.  True story.

2014


2015


2016


So this year, I am going to run the marathon.  I don’t intend to race at all but just use the race as a long training run as I ramp up for 50 miler training. I’ll share more in the coming weeks of my training plan as it’s still a work in progress at the moment.

If you are local, join me and other ambassadors for a kick off run at Fleet Feet in Westlake on Saturday January 14th at 9:30am! Hope to see you there! All of the ambassadors will be doing fun giveaways on their blogs and or Instagram and Twitter in the lead up to the race.  Be share to check in frequently to participate!

6 thoughts on “Spring 2017 Marathon Plans

Leave a Reply

