Training Log- amazing workouts and phantom injuries…

Last week was a whirlwind; I had probably the best workout I’ve had in weeks followed by the threat of an injury. Thankfully I seem to be on the upswing but seriously, injury ptsd is real! 

I took back to back rest days early in the week because I can- love the off season! 

Wednesday- 7 total- 7 x 800. This was amazing! I’ve had some great speed workouts lately and am really beginning to see my paces drop overall but this workout just felt good and strong start to finish. The downside was as soon as I stepped off the treadmill, I experienced a pang in my left glute, eerily similar to the glute pain I experienced as a pre cursor to my herniated discs last April. I had an inkling something was up the previous week when I experienced some achiness in that same glute but shrugged it off. This time there was no mistaking it, it was painful and causing me to walk with a bit of a limp. I immediately scheduled a appointment with my sports chiropractor who diagnosed a glute strain. I was soooooo grateful that all muscle testing came back negative- no disc involvement! I was given the green light to continue running as desired. 


Saturday:  8.5 slow road miles. I took a couple more days off after my appointment. By Saturday I felt ready to run so I met Amy at 6am for a giant loop around our town. The roads were icy but it felt really good to get out and run. My  glute felt about 90% 

We like to stop to make mid run prank phone calls

And then this happened


My knees are bruised but knock on wood feel great. 

Sunday:7.9 trail miles. I was graciously invited to run with a group on a new to me trail- Doan Creek. This is essentially a technical trail with all the usual trappings – rocks, roots, climbs, descents, and water crossings. Except it’s in the middle of an extremely urban area. Every now and then, we’d pop out of the woods and cross a major intersection before heading back into the solitude. I never even knew this trail existed! It was quite the challenge to navigate the terrain and the heavy snowfall certainly added to that. I had such a great time and as always, the trail running community was so warm and friendly. Can’t wait to go back! 

Total: 23.4. Definitely on the low side but I’ll take it. I’m just glad to be running. 

Leave a Reply

