Training log-Winter Runs, Whole 30 and #runCLE40

Last week was a much better week for running-after only 3 total running days the week before, I felt like my old self and was able to log 5 runs which is my comfort zone.

I started my second round of Whole 30 last Monday so I was a bit nervous about how that would affect my running.  I did the first round last February and struggled with sluggish low energy runs for at least the first two weeks.  I also dealt with some very unhappy side effects of bloating, headaches  and some pretty intense cravings.  Interestingly enough, this time is much different.  I haven’t had any symptoms thus far *knocking on wood* My guess as to why this time is different is that I am doing the vegetarian version (which is not considered a compliant W30 per the W30 police purists.  With the vegetarian version, I am eating legumes and fermented soy such as tofu and tempeh both of which are verboten on a traditional W30.  Because of those two food groups which are HUGE in my my diet, I think I am avoiding the typical detox symptoms.  It’s still difficult and I am dealing with cravings but it is definitely not as intense as last time.  I’m already feeling some good side effects of this strict plan so I am hopeful to make it to 30 days.  Last time I fell off the wagon around 20 days in and only made it to 28.  I still had a great outcome and really think this is an effective way to get back on track.

Whole 30 compliant super bowl snacks 


And the reason for Whole 30-I alluded to counting macronutrients in some past weekly training recaps.  After 6 solid weeks of tracking, I just wasn’t seeing or feeling any progress (i.e. my pants were still tight) which is why I decided to up my game and go sugar and other stuff free for a month. Plus in order for me to hit my protein macro, I was eating a lot of processed protein bars.  And while I do think there is a time and a place for protein supplementation, I’m just not down with doing it daily.

On to my training log:

Monday: rest day as per usual

Tuesday: 5 very snowy miles.  I originally planned to go to the gym on Tuesday morning, however when I woke up, I wasn’t certain my car would make it out of the driveway due to a heavy snowfall overnight.  So I bundled up and headed out with the hopes of getting 3 miles in.  The snow was still falling fairly heavily and the sidewalks were impassible which forced me on the roads.  It was really quiet out and absolutely serene.  I had to jump out of the way of a few huge snow plows (oh winter running how I love thee) but it was rather enjoyable.

Rocking the snow ninja look

Wednesday: 5 very icy miles.  Tuesday’s snow turned to Wednesdays ice.  I met up with Amy and we gingerly made our way around town for 5 miles.  It was incredibly icy but we stayed upright and managed 5 slow miles.

Poor attempt at a jump pic


Thursday: 6 total with 6×800 with 400 recovery.  I am really loving this interval workout.  I used to hate 800’s but I’m kind starting to love them and to be even more honest, I am really enjoying the time on the treadmill.  I pick a pace and that’s that.  I don’t have to worry about being consistent or missing my goal pace because the treadmill does it for you (I know, revolutionary right?!).  Easy peasy and no thinking required.

Sweaty treadmill beast 
Friday: Rest

Saturday: 9 total through the local Metroparks.  I met up with Rachel and some of her friends for a very enjoyable run.  The miles ticked by and we were treated to some gorgeous views.  The temps were chilly after being a bit warmer in the previous days but I didn’t mind.  I even heard a bird or two singing which makes me think spring is right around the corner (file that under “things we tell ourselves in the dead of winter”.) And you can’t beat post run breakfast which is a tradition first started a few years ago with Rachel and one I happily love to revisit time to time.
Sunday: 3 stroller miles.  I “slept in” until 7:30 which is actually pretty late for me.  However, with Chris working, that meant that any run or fitness endeavor would be with a toddler in tow.  With the temps hovering around 30°, I felt like it was just a bit too cold for an outdoor stroller run so Liam and I ran on the track.  He’s pretty awesome about being patient in the stroller but indoor track runs have a pretty limited shelf life.  At 3 miles, he said he was done and I obliged.

Have you registered for the RiteAid Cleveland Marathon yet?! Head on over to the race facebook page to learn how you can win an entry into a race of your choice!

And if you’re still unsure, check out how cute these shirts are!

Total Mileage: 28

Total Myrtl Routine: 2 (planning to hit it 3 times this week)

Total Strenth Routine-1 plus a half assed attempt

Leave a Reply

