Fitness and baby, weeks 27 and 28

Happy third trimester!!!

I decided I’d count 27 weeks as my official 3rd tri, though the internet says all sorts of things.

How I’m Feeling:

Well, I definitely feel pregnant. I’ve noticed that things are much harder for me lately; turning over in bed, tying my shoes, bending all the way forward to give Liam a bath in the tub. It didn’t hit me overnight but I do think it coincided with the beginning of this new trimester. I’ve also had an increase in heartburn, to the point that it’s prevented me from sleeping at times and I’m now taking something daily to prevent (lessen) it. I was told by the pharmacist at work that Tums could be causing rebound heartburn so I switched to maalox which so far has been effective in conjunction with Pepcid twice a day.

Fatigue wise, I’ve just felt more “done” by the end of the day. After my commute home, I feel just exhausted. I’m still managing to make dinner most nights, or at least direct Chris on what to make but I feel like my energy is just gone by that time of day.

And overall, I’ve just noticed a diminished desire to do things. For example, we usually take time off surrounding the 4th of July and spend a lot of time outdoors hiking. This year, we didn’t hike once. We did other things (like go to Ikea which was necessary) but I didn’t feel like I had extra energy to commit to a full day of activities which is my normal, non pregnant preference. Some of it might be the heat- it’s been hotter here and I’ve just found it harder and harder to want to be outside. And the other side of it is that I feel big and that doesn’t really feel all that great when it’s 90+ degrees.

My drink of choice at the Akron RibFest. This is a pic of me hiding in the shade. It was so damn hot!

Fitness

Despite feeling huge much of the time, fitness continues to be pretty decent, all things considered. I keep telling people that 5am me is very different than 5pm me. I really do feel my best first thing in the morning, whereas by the end of the day, I feel huge and bloated and out of breath. I really do feel like a different person in the morning!

I’ve continued to go to CrossFit 4/5 days per week and run 1-2. Running has gotten considerably harder. I have side stitches every single time I run and they don’t always subside. I started using a support belt lent to me by a friend and it seemed to help for a few weeks but I’m not so sure now. Plus I feel like I have to pee constantly and it’s hard to enjoy running while also thinking about my bladder nonstop.

This is from the color run, 27+2. I really didn’t think Liam was going to run very much (and at one point I didn’t even know if he was going to walk!) but after the first color stop, he took off. He did a great job of running back to me when I called him but I felt bad that he couldn’t run as much as he wanted. Plus I was terrified I’d lose him in the crowds. I kept Chris updated on the whole situation and he ended up finding us around mile 2.5 and running with Liam to the finish while I walked. My whole belly ached and just felt sore.

We had a blast nonetheless

I ran again a few days later (27+6) and while I didn’t feel perfect, I felt really good, so who knows. I’m taking it a week at a time for now.

As for CrossFit, I’m still modifying in all the same ways:

No rowing, sit ups, knees to chest, pull ups, planks, full push ups.

I’m still using a barbell for oly lifting but am watching my bar path closely with my coach. We’re also modifying weights more during metcons, especially if it’s higher volume. And I’ve started lifting mostly in the hang position as it’s just a little too hard to go from the floor now.

It’s funny because at times, I’m still finishing close to the top (depending on what it is) which I didn’t expect at this point.

What I’m wondering

What our ultrasound will reveal at our next appointment – this should help us to determine the due date a little more accurately. And what I’m going to do with Liam when it’s time to have the baby- still working on that.

Leave a comment